Home News US Interior Department appoints 17 members to NGAC

US Interior Department appoints 17 members to NGAC

US: Secretary of the Interior, US, Sally Jewell has appointed 17 new members to the National Geospatial Advisory Committee (NGAC). The advisory committee provides recommendations on geospatial policy and management issues to the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), the interagency executive group responsible for providing leadership and direction in federal geospatial programmes. The NGAC also reviews and comments on geospatial policy and management issues, and provides a forum for conveying the views of non-federal representatives in the geospatial community. The appointees to three-year terms on the NGAC are: Dan Cotter, U.S. Department of Homeland Security; Patricia Cummens, ESRI; Steve Emanuel, State of New Jersey; Joanne Irene Gabrynowicz, University of Mississippi (reappointed to a second term); Bert Granberg, State of Utah (reappointed to a second term); Jack Hild, DigitalGlobe; Mr. Jeff Lovin, Woolpert; Keith Masback, U.S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation; Kevin Pomfret, Centre for Spatial Law and Policy; Major General William N. Reddel III, New Hampshire National Guard; Anthony Spicci, State of Missouri (reappointed to a second term); Julie Sweetkind-Singer, Stanford University; Gary Thompson, State of North Carolina (reappointed to a second term); Harvey Thorleifson, Minnesota Geological Survey; Molly Vogt, Oregon Metro (reappointed to a second term); Jason Warzinik, Boone County, Missouri; David Wyatt, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians (reappointed to a second term)

"We are honored to have these distinguished geospatial professionals as new and continuing members of the National Geospatial Advisory Committee. The NGAC has been a valuable resource and an excellent partner for the Federal geospatial community, and has provided excellent advice and recommendations on a wide range of critical geospatial policy and management issues. Effective and innovative use of geospatial information is essential for Federal agencies and we look forward to continuing our collaboration with this dynamic and accomplished set of leaders,” said Anne Castle, Assistant Secretary of the Interior for Water and Science, who serves as Chair of the FGDC.

Source: FGDC