Home Natural Hazard Management The Philippines Government prioritises 19 municipalities for geohazard mapping

The Philippines Government prioritises 19 municipalities for geohazard mapping

Philippines: The Mines and Geosciences Bureau (MGB) is set to embark on the intensive information, education and communication (IEC) campaigns on several barangays and the distribution of geohazard maps on all provinces, municipalities and barangays by 2015.

The Mines and GeoSciences Bureau (MGB) of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources in the Philippine Iloilo City expects to complete the geohazard assessment and mapping of the 19 priority local government units (LGUs) in the region before the month of June ends.

With the expected completion of the 1:10,000 scale geohazard mapping of all Philippine municipalities and cities this year, MGB will focus on intensifying its IEC campaigns on 22,048 barangays or approximately 50% of the total 42,048 barangays across the country.

The IEC efforts aim to strengthen the barangay level awareness on flooding and landslide risks by conducting consultations with the local officials and constituents on disaster preparedness and land use planning. To support the activity, MGB will produce five copies of the 11,400 map sheets covering the entire country. The copies will be distributed to each province, city/municipality and barangay.

MGB is also set to carry out vulnerability and risk assessments next year to an initial 35 highly critical and priority areas. The assessment aims to determine in greater detail the geohazard risks of the areas and assess the response capabilities of the communities. Detailed subsurface assessment will also be included to determine the presence of sinkholes and subsurface hazards.

The agency is seeking an additional budget of approximately $10 million for its maintenance and other operating expenses and capital outlay to support the above activities, groundwater resources and vulnerability assessment, national small scale mining program, anti-illegal mining, and purchase of technical and scientific equipments among others.

Out of the 19 target municipalities in the region, Van Juguan said they have already completed the assessment and mapping of the four municipalities that include Estancia, Carles, Concepcion, all in Iloilo Province; and Sapian in Capiz.

Source: Mines and Geosciences Bureau