Home Business Appointments Space scientist nominated to be a Member of Parliament in India

Space scientist nominated to be a Member of Parliament in India

The Government on Sunday discussed the names of a few personalities from different fields for nomination to the Rajya Sabha following the recent retirement of eight members. Indian Space Research Organisation chairman, Dr.Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan, is one of the personalities nominated for Rajya Sabha.

Dr.Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan is the Chairman of ISRO, of Space Commission and Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Space. He was earlier the Director of ISRO Satellite Centre. He was also the Project Director for India’s first two experimental earth observation satellites, BHASKARA-I & II and subsequently was responsible for overall direction of the first operational Indian Remote Sensing Satellite, IRS-1A. Dr.Kasturirangan took his Bachelor of Science with Honours and Master of Science degrees in Physics from Bombay University and received his Doctorate Degree in Experimental High Energy Astronomy in 1971 working at the Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad.

As an Astrophysicist, Dr.Kasturirangan’s interest includes research in high energy X-ray and gamma ray astronomy as well as optical astronomy. He has made extensive and significant contributions to studies of Cosmic x-ray sources, celestial gamma-ray and effect of cosmic x-rays in the lower atmosphere. Dr.Kasturirangan is a member of several important scientific academies, both within India and abroad. He has won several awards including Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Engineering, Shri Hari Om Ashram Dr.Vikram Sarabhai Prerit Award in Aerospace, M.P.Birla Memorial Award in Astronomy, Shri M.M.Chugani Memorial Award in Applied Science, H.K.Firodia Award in Science Technology, Rathindra Puraskar by Visvabharati, Santiniketan, Dr.M.N.Saha Birth Centenary Medal for outstanding contributions in the field of Space. He has been conferred Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan. He has published more than 200 papers, both in international and national journals in the areas of astronomy, space science, space applications and has edited 6 books.