Seven Indian metros chosen for aerial surveillance

Seven Indian metros chosen for aerial surveillance


New Delhi: Seven metropolitan cities — Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore and Ahmedabad will soon have individual air surveillance systems where helicopters with gun-toting commandos, balloons fitted with cameras and sophisticated sensors and unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) will keep round-the-clock vigil over the cities.

The system, which was successfully used in the Capital during the 2010 Commonwealth Games, will now be replicated in all these cities under the ”Safe City Project” of the home ministry. It will be a permanent feature in all the seven metropolitan cities, unlike the one used in Delhi only during the Games period. The ministry approved Rs 432 crore for this purpose which is an integral part of the mega-city policing plan of the government.

The fund will be used to procure modern equipment like GPS/GIS for dial 100 system and patrol cars, CCTV systems, vehicle scanners, vehicle number plate identification system, cyber patrol and communication monitoring system and integrated GIS-based automated vehicle tracking and management system.

Source: Times of India