Home Business Appointments OGC appoints industry leaders as board members

OGC appoints industry leaders as board members

US: The Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) elected 19 board members during its biennial election of directors. The new OGC board members include Sanjay Kumar, CEO, GIS Development – the leading geospatial media company; and Professor Jacqueline McGlade, Executive Director, European Environment Agency. Of the 19 elected members of the consortium’s 2009-2010 board of directors, 17 serving members were re-elected.

Pursuing his belief in the importance of the geospatial industry, Sanjay Kumar has been working towards raising the awareness and profile of the industry through political and administrative leadership worldwide. In addition, he is working to connect the geospatial industry with other important industries. He actively collaborates with global geospatial organisations and is publisher of Geospatial World magazine and founder of the Geospatial World Forum, a global geospatial industry event. Kumar has also been associated with many geospatial professional societies and served as Chair of ISPRS WG VI-4 on distance learning from 2000-2004. He is founding Secretary of the Association of Geospatial Industries (AGI) of India and is a member of the National Task Force on Evolving Geospatial Strategy, Government of India. He was the 2010 chair of the OGC Global Advisory Council.

Professor Jacqueline McGlade is Executive Director of the European Environment Agency. Prior to this appointment in 2003, she was Natural Environment Research Council Professorial Fellow in Environmental Informatics in the Mathematics Department of University College London.

Returning to the OGC board are: Dr. John Curlander, Philippe Delclaux, Ben Eazzetta, Steve Hagan, Jefferey Harris, Dr. Mike Jackson, Michael Jones, Dr. Vanessa Lawrence, Stefano Morisi, John Olesak, Jack Pellicci, Jeffery Peters, Kevin Pomfret, François Robida, Velu Sinha, Dr. Christopher Tucker and Rob van de Velde.

Three OGC staff members, Jeff Burnett, Mark Reichardt and David Schell are members of the Board by appointment.

The OGC Board granted the title “Director Emeritus” to the following retired directors whose enduring interest and participation in OGC activities qualifies them for this advisory and honorary role: Dr. Robert W. Corell, Joanne Isham, Dr. R. Siva Kumar, and Jeff Labonté.

David Schell, Chairman of the OGC Board of Directors, said, “The OGC community is extremely fortunate that these extraordinary individuals have agreed to serve on the Consortium’s board. Their collective accomplishment and scope of interest confirm OGC’s expanding role in addressing society’s increasing dependence on spatial information services to understand the complex infrastructure, security and geopolitical challenges facing both public and private sector scientists and policy makers around the world.”

Source: OGC