Home News Jamaica standardising administrative regions

Jamaica standardising administrative regions

Jamaica: Jamaican Cabinet approved the standardisation of administrative regions across the public sector to commence from January 1, 2011, according to Hon. Daryl Vaz; Information, Telecommunications and Special Projects Minister.

Minister Vaz informed that the methodology used to determine the standardised regions included: a review of existing documentation on administrative boundaries, technical analysis using GIS and a series of meetings with the major government stakeholders.

The minister said, “The objective of standardisation is to facilitate multi-task agency co-ordination of data to common geographic areas, both at the strategic level and at the community/neighbourhood level, to inform planning and decision making”.

“Ministries, departments and agencies currently have different boundaries, which delineate their administrative zones across the island. The number of regions being used by each entity ranges from two to seven. The lack of standardisation has serious implications for proper management, effective social intervention and efficient use of limited resources, both human and material,” he added.

The zones are: West comprising the parishes of Hanover, St. James, Trelawny and Westmoreland; North East – St. Ann, St. Mary and Portland; South East – St. Thomas, Kingston, St. Andrew and St. Catherine; and South – Clarendon, Manchester and St. Elizabeth.

Source: JIS