Home Business Awards Indian space scientist wins ISPRS Brock Gold Medal

Indian space scientist wins ISPRS Brock Gold Medal

The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) would award its 2004 ISPRS Brock Gold Medal to Dr. Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan of India.

The announcement was made recently by ISPRS. The ceremony will take place at the XXth ISPRS Congress in Istanbul, Turkey, 12-23 July 2004. The Medal is donated by the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, and is awarded for an outstanding landmark in the evolution of the photogrammetry, remote sensing and spatial information sciences.

Dr. Kasturirangan served as Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Chairman of Space Commission and Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Space from March 1994 until August 2003. His efforts have established India as a pre-eminent space faring nation among the handful of countries that have major space programmes. Under his leadership, India’s space programme established its capabilities with both Polar and Geostationary Satellite Launch Vehicles. He saw the realization of the second generation and initiation of the third generation of the INSAT series of satellites, which include telecommunications and meteorological payloads. In addition, he oversaw the design, development and launch of satellites in the Indian Remote Sensing (IRS) series beginning with the experimental BHASKARA I and II and the first operational Indian remote sensing satellite, IRS 1A. He subsequently had overall direction of IRS-1B/1C/1D (primarily land remote sensing) and IRS-P3/P4 (for ocean observation).

Professor John Trinder, President of ISPRS, said “We are pleased to honour a colleague whose vision and leadership have contributed so much to the remote sensing community both globally and also to the national priorities of India.”