India releases list of first 20 smart cities

India releases list of first 20 smart cities


India: Union minister Venkaiah Naidu on Thursday announced the names of the first 20 urban areas that will be developed as smart cities. The urban development ministry received proposals for 97 cities from state governments. The selected cities will be equipped with basic infrastructure, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT connectivity and e-governance mechanisms.

"Implementation of smart cities plan will showcase integrated planning. The investment of Rs 50,802 crores has been proposed in selected smart cities and towns during the five-year period," said minister of urban development Venkaiah Naidu, while announcing the list.

"There are five capital cities among the 20 smart cities chosen," Naidu said. "A consortium of only Indian companies was chosen for plans of nine cities from the 20 cities chosen," he added.

In the future, the government plans to announce 40 cities each to be developed asa Smart City.

Following is the list of 20 smart cities:

1. Bhubaneswar

2. Pune

3. Jaipur

4. Surat

5. Kochi

6. Ahmedabad

7. Jabalpur

8. Vishakapatnam

9. Sholapur

10. Davangere

11. Indore

12. New Delhi (New Delhi municipal council area)

13. Coimbatore

14. Kakinada

15. Belagavi

Source: TOI