Home News India Geospatial Awards 2015 winners announced

India Geospatial Awards 2015 winners announced

Greater Noida: The second day of the GeoSmart India 2016 featured the India Geospatial Awards. The event was organised to recognise and encourage innovations, and excellence brought forward by geospatial technology developers, professionals, end users and policy makers that have fostered the geospatial industry in India.

The awards were given in two categories – Leadership Awards, and Excellence Awards category, which proceeded by a gala dinner. Maj Gen Dr R Siva Kumar (Retd) received the award for lifetime achievement category.

Winners in India Geospatial Excellence Award category are:



GIS for urban planning

Dholera Special Investment Region (DSIR), Gujarat


AECOM India Private Limited

Integration of engineering support plan with GIS during armed operations

Indian Army

Internet Based Dairy Geographical Information System

National Dairy Development Board


Certificate For Application of Geospatial Technology in Governance

Punjab Remote Sensing Centre



Winners in India Geospatial Leadership Award category are:



Leading Geospatial State – 2015

The State of Rajasthan

Capacity Development in Geospatial Technology and Applications

Bhaskaracharya Institute For Space Applications and Geo-Informatics (BISAG), Gujarat

Geospatial Business Leader – 2015

Mr. Rakesh Verma

India Geospatial Leadership Award 2015

A S Kiran Kumar, Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)


This year the awards were conferred by Gen VK Singh, Minister of Development of North Eastern Region. In his address, Gen VK Singh started by saying that GIS as an industry has started growing. And the industry has the scope for growth that cannot be described. He adds, “Ultimately what sells is world class. The second best doesn’t sell. Because people know its second best and in this industry, only the best of all sells. Today the conditions are right and what you want to achieve can be achieved in today’s economy.”

Source: Our Correspondent