Home Geospatial Applications Miscellaneous IGF honours geospatial excellence

IGF honours geospatial excellence

Gurgaon, India: The geospatial industry has been evolving and maturing as one of the mainstream businesses having its own identity in the world economy. Undoubtedly, this has been possible only by innovations and excellence brought forward by geospatial technology developers, professionals, end users and policy makers. In order to recognise and encourage such efforts, Geospatial Media and Communications has instituted awards and recognitions for exemplary innovations and practices in geospatial industry. The awards were in two categories – the India Geospatial Excellence Awards and India Geospatial Leadership Awards.

India Geospatial Awards – Winners 2012

Category (Geospatial Excellence) Winner
 Agriculture Directorate of Rice Research, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh; for Spatial Rice Decision Support System
 Disaster Management Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC) and Department of Information & Technology; Government of India; for Near Real Time Flood Monitoring System for Brahmaputra Basin using Microwave Remote Sensing
 Land Administration Excise and Prohibition Department, Govt of Bihar;  for the project Creation of Visual MVR (Minimum Value Register) using GIS maps
 Telecommunication BSNL; for the project Geospatial analysis for the deployment of rural wireless broadband telecom services using geo-information technology
 Urban Planning MRSAC, Nagpur, Maharashtra; for the project Civic Information System
 e-Governance NIC, Tamil Nadu State for the project Mainstreaming GIS in e-governance through Web services in TN
 Natural Resource management Watershed Organisation Trust, India; for project Use of NRM planning, implementation and monitoring
 Construction RITES Ltd. for construction of Yamuna expressway
 Infrastructure & engineering Reliance Infrastructure Ltd for enterprise-wide GIS implementation for metro
 Rachapudi Kamakshi Memorial Gold Medal for Young Geospatial Scientist Dr. MB Rajani, Assistant Professor, NIIT University, India; Mr Uttam Kumar, PhD student, Faculty of Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science

India Geospatial Leadership awards

 The Premier Geospatial State State of Madhya Pradesh
 Geospatial Project of the Year  Integrated coastal zone management
 Most popular geospatial data portal  maps.mapmyindia.com
 Young geospatial entrepreneur  Mr Sudhakar Reddy Arumalla
 Capacity building and professional development  Dr PS Roy for capacity and professional development in geospatial sciences
 Corporate leadership  Dr BVR Mohan Reddy
Lifetime achievement  Sri Rajesh C Mathur

Source: Our Correspondent