Home Products Cartography & Map Publishing IBGE releases updated maps of five Brazilian states

IBGE releases updated maps of five Brazilian states

Brazil: The Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics (IBGE) released five new physical maps for the states of Ceará, Goiás, Paraíba, Piauí and Rio de Janeiro. Apart from these recently released maps, once can also access maps of Acre, Amazonas, Amapá, Bahia, Maranhao, Minas Gerais, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Pará, Paraná, Pernambuco, Rio Grande do Norte, Rio Grande do Sul, Rondonia, Roraima, Santa Catarina, São Paulo and Tocantins at IBGE website.

About the Piauí and Ceará maps, the IBGE stated that as the border dispute between these two states has not been legally resolved, IBGE decided to ignore the competition for territories and technical criteria used to divide areas.

The dispute occurred since 1880, when the Ceará had transferred part of its coastline in Piauí in exchange of an area in the Sierra Ibiapaba or Sierra Grande. Today there are 12 municipalities in Ceará and Piauí eight in an area of 2.8 square kilometers in which there is doubt about who governs.

With these maps, users can identify the format of the relief of their states, the highest peaks and nomenclature of the hills and mountains, allowing a more detailed knowledge of the territory.

Other units of the federation will also gain new maps or updates of existing ones in the second half. Minas Gerais, Pará and Rio Grande do Norte will receive new versions as Alagoas, Espirito Santo and Sergipe have unpublished maps.

Source: www.geodireito.com