Home Business Appointments Dr.G.Madhavan Nair new ISRO chief

Dr.G.Madhavan Nair new ISRO chief

Distinguished scientist and Vikram Sarabhai Space Center (VSSC) Director Dr. G Madhavan Nair has assumed charge as the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Chairman after the voluntary retirement of Dr. K. Kasturirangan, consequent to his nomination to the Rajya Sabha, the Upper House of the Parliament. Dr. Nair would also hold concurrent charge of VSSC directorship. He would also hold the posts of Secretary in the Department of Space and the chairmanship of Space Commission. A leading technologist in the field of Rocket Systems, Dr. Nair has made significant contributions to the development of multi-stage Satellite Launch Vehicles for the National Space Programme. As Director, VSSC, he is responsible for guiding a team of nearly 6,000 scientists, engineers and supporting staff engaged in research and development of all aspects of launch vehicles for orbiting spacecraft for Remote Sensing and Communications applications.

Dr. Nair has been showered with many prestigious awards like Padma Bhushan, Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Award, Swadeshi Sastra Puraskar Award, FIE Foundation Award, Vikram Sarabhai Memorial Gold Medal-ISCA.