Home News Autodesk announces AEC Excellence Awards 2017

Autodesk announces AEC Excellence Awards 2017

AEC Excellence Awards 2017

US: The 2017 AEC Excellence Awards winners were announced at Autodesk University 2017 in Las Vegas. The 2017 AEC Excellence Awards competition recognizes global projects that embrace connected BIM (Building Information Modeling) technologies and sustainable design in the AEC (Architecture, Engineering, and Construction) industry. This year’s competition received 145 submissions representing more than 30 countries, indicating that around the world, innovation in building design and construction is thriving.

The 2017 AEC Excellence Awards were co-sponsored this year by Autodesk, HP, Construction Dive and Smart Cities Dive. The independent panel of judges selected the winning projects in the categories of Sustainability, Infrastructure, Building, and Construction.

“With their bold imaginations and the right tools in hand, the winners of this competition are creating lasting monuments to the ingenuity of humankind,” said Nicolas Mangon, Vice President AEC, Business Strategy and Marketing at Autodesk.  “I applaud each of the winners and finalists for sharing their vision and demonstrating the future of making things in the built world around us.”

Here are the winners:


First Place award: Geotectura, Axelrod-Grobman Architects, NCA, Assa Aharoni Consulting Engineers for The Porter School of Environmental Studies.

Second Place award: Tianjin Architecture Design Institute for Jie Fang Nan Lu Community Culture and Sport Center.

Third Place award: Magnolia Quality Development Corporation Limited for WHIZDOM 101 Bangkok


First Place award: Foster + Partners, FR-EE for Nuevo Aeropuerto Internacional de la Ciudad de Mexico (NAICM).

Second Place award: LiRo Group for East Side Access.

Third Place award: Norconsult AS for Arna-Bergen, Ulriken Tunnel.


First Place award: Dubai Future Foundation, Killa Design, BuroHappold Engineering, BAM Higgs & Hill, Transgulf for Museum of the Future.

Second Place award: Tianjin Architecture Design Institute for Hohhot City Saihan District National Fitness Center Project.

Third Place award: Dubai Expo 2020 Bureau for Expo 2020 Dubai.


First Place award: China Construction Eighth Engineering Division Corp. Ltd. for Tianjin Chow Tai Fook Financial Center Project.

Second Place award: China Construction Third Engineering Bureau Group Co., Ltd. for China Zun Tower.

Third Place award: Obayashi Corporation & ITOCHU Techno-Solutions Corporation for Mikusa tunnel on the Kinki High-way Kise Line.