Home Business Appointments ASPRS appoints new honorary members

ASPRS appoints new honorary members

US: Alan R. Stevens and Jack Dangermond have been selected as the next honorary members of the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS). This is the highest award bestowed by ASPRS and there can be only 25 living Honorary Members of the Society at any given time.
Initiated in 1937, this life-time award is given for professional excellence in recognition of individuals who have rendered distinguished service to ASPRS and/or who have attained distinction in advancing the science and use of the geospatial information sciences. Stevens and Dangermond will receive their awards at the ASPRS 2011 Annual Conference in Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Stevens is the International Program Manager (Retired) for the US Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) and the USGS Geospatial Information Office. He currently works as a Scientist Emeritus for the FGDC. He also works as a part of the Global Spatial Data Infrastructure (GSDI) Secretariat. 
Stevens has served as ASPRS President (1986-87), is chair of the ASPRS Awards and Scholarships Committee and the Fellow Award Selection Committee, and was a contributing author to the ASPRS Manual of Remote Sensing, First Edition. He is currently a Trustee of the ASPRS Foundation. He has received numerous ASPRS awards, including the Claude F. Birdseye Award – 1987, three Presidential Citations, two Meritorious Service Citations, and the Outstanding Service Award (‘93).
Jack Dangermond is the founder and president of ESRI. He is recognised not only as a pioneer in spatial analysis methods, but also as one of the most influential people in GIS. He is the recipient of a number of awards, honorary degrees, lectureships, and medals including the 2000 LaGasse Medal of the American Society of Landscape Architects, the Brock Gold Medal of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, the Cullum Geographical Medal of the American Geographical Society, the EDUCAUSE Medal of EDUCAUSE, the Horwood Award of the Urban and Regional Information Systems Association, the Anderson Medal of the Association of American Geographers, and the John Wesley Powell Award of the US Geological Survey. 
Dangermond is a member of many professional organisations and has served on advisory committees for US agencies including NASA’s Science and Technology Advisory Committee, the US Environmental Protection Agency, the National Academy of Sciences, the National Science Foundation and the National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis (NCGIA).
Source: ASPRS