Home India Meteorological Department

    India Meteorological Department

    The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD), also referred to as the Met Office, is an agency of the Ministry of Earth Sciences of the Government of India. It is the principal agency responsible for meteorological observations, weather forecasting and seismology. IMD is headquartered in New Delhi and operates hundreds of observation stations across India and Antarctica. IMD is also one of the six Regional Specialized Meteorological Centers of the World Meteorological Organization.